The 40th Australasian Computer Science Conference (ACSC 2017)

The Australasian Computer Science Conference is an annual forum for exploring research, development, and novel applications in Computer Science. The Fortieth Australasian Computer Science Conference, ACSC 2017, will be held in Geelong, VIC, at the beginning of February, 2017 as part of the Australasian Computer Science Week (ACSW 2017).

Registration to the Australasian Computer Science Conference enables delegates to attend sessions in any conference participating in the Australasian Computer Science Week.

Paper Submission

Papers submitted after the official deadline (AoE 22 Aug 2016) will not be accepted.

We welcome papers describing original contributions in all fields of Computer Science research. Its contribution should be clearly explained in both general and technical terms, and authors should make every effort to ensure that its technical content is understandable by a broad audience without taking away from its impact and significance. Submissions must be in English. A paper must clearly state the problem being addressed, the goal of the work, the results achieved, and the relation to other work. Each paper will be judged on its originality, significance, technical quality, relevance to ACSC, and presentation. Papers should be no more than 10 pages in length conforming to the required format.

Papers should be formatted according to ACM conference paper formatting guidelines ACM SIG Proceedings Templates.
Submission to ACSC 2017 will only be accepted electronically (using EasyChair) via the main conference submission page. Once you log in EasyChair system, click on the “new submission” button, then select ACSC from the list in the following page. Each submission will be peer reviewed by at least three program committee members.

Please note that it is ACSW policy that at least one author of all accepted papers to the conferences and workshops in the series would both register and present at the event concerned. Failure to do so without a reason acceptable to the organisers of the event will result in the paper being retrospectively withdrawn from both the proceedings and all citation sources. It is also ACSW policy that all papers be original and not concurrently submitted elsewhere. Once again, we reserve the right to retrospectively withdraw a paper from the proceedings if we later find this not to be the case.

Key Areas

ACSC 2017 solicits contributions in all fields of Computer Science research. Typical, but not exclusive topics of interest are:
Algorithms Logic and Logic Programming
Artificial Intelligence Mobile Computing
Communications and Networks Multimedia
Compilers Natural Language
Computer Architecture Object-Oriented Systems
Computer Vision Operating Systems
Computational Geometry Pattern Matching and Image Processing
Concurrency Persistence
Databases Programming Languages
Data Structures Real-time Systems
Distributed Systems Reliability
E-Commerce Robotics
Education Security
Embedded Systems Scientific Computing
Fault Tolerance Simulation
Forensic Computing Software Engineering
Formal Methods Speech
Functional Programming Theory
Graphics Trusted Systems
High Performance Computing Visualization
Human-Computer Interaction  

Best Student Paper

A prize will be awarded to the best student paper as chosen by the programme committee. The student paper award is given on the conditions that:
(1) all other non-student co-authors confirm to the program chair(s) that the nominated author has had a substantial participation into the paper and
(2) the student academic supervisor confirms to the program chair that the contribution reflected in the paper is the result of a major component from progress for a research higher degree.

Programme Committee

Programme Committee Chairs
   Peter Strazdins    Australian National University
   Michael Hobbs     Deakin University

Programme Committee Members

Joseph Antony National Computational Infrastructure
Md Mohsin Ali National Computational Infrastructure
Muhammad Atif National Computational Infrastructure
Izzatdin Aziz Universiti Teknologi Petronas
Kelly Blincoe University of Victoria
Stephane Bressan National University of Singapore
Philip Church University of California, Los Angeles
Damien Depaoli Deakin University
Curtis Dyreson Utah State University
Jairo Gutierrez Auckland University of Technology
Michael E. Houle National Institute of Informatics
Zhiyi Huang Univ of Otago
Shuji Kijima Kyushu University
Sherlock Licorish University of Otago
Jiamou Liu The University of Auckland
Lin Liu University of South Australia
Wolfgang Mayer University of South Australia
Farhaan Mirza Auckland University of Technology
Eric Mccreath The Australian National University
Chris McDonald The Univ. of Western Australia
Muhammad Asif Naeem The University of Auckland
Parma Nand Auckland University of Technology
Kok-Leong Ong Latrobe University
David Parry Auckland University of Technology
Maurice Pagnucco The University of New South Wales
Alex Potanin Victoria University of Wellington
Roopak Sinha Auckland University of Technology
Andrew Turpin The University of Melbourne
Qing Wang The Australian National University
Gregory Wickham KAIST
Burkhard Wuensche The University of Auckland
Zili Zhang South West University
Jianlong Zhou National ICT Australia
Xiaofang Zhou University of Queensland
Acceptance rate Infomration

40 papers were submitted to ACSC'2017, of which 18 were accepted for publication, making a 45% acceptance rate.