Australasian Web Conference (AWC) 2016

The relentless growth in Internet functionality and broadband access has enabled a new wave of innovations that are transforming the way people and organisations interact, communicate, and collaborate. The third Australasian Web Conference (AWC) focuses on presenting original contributions on research, development, and applications, related to all fields of Web research.

AWC is part of the Australasian Computer Science Week (ACSW). Registration to the Australasian Computer Science Conference enables delegates to attend sessions in any conference participating in ACSW. The proceedings will be included in the ACM digital library and indexed on Scopus and DBLP.

As we celebrate the 25th anniversary of the World Wide Web, it continues to play a transformative role in all walks of life. It also provides a platform for exciting and innovative research on a wide range of themes. AWC 2015 aims to bring together researchers and PhD students who work on topics related to the Web in an effort to highlight the state-of-the-art, to discuss critical issues and opportunities, and to explore new research directions.

AWC 2015 invites submissions dealing with all areas of Web research, including but not limited to the following


  • Semantic Web
  • Linked open data
  • Crowdsourcing
  • Web mining
  • Deep Web
  • Emerging Web techniques
  • Information retrieval
  • Interfaces and accessibility
  • Interoperability and heterogeneous systems
  • Mobile Web
  • Performance, scalability and availability
  • Personalisation and recommender systems
  • Security and privacy
  • Social networks and communities
  • Social Web and analytics
  • Mashups
  • Web of things
  • Web search
  • Service Web, Web services, and service-oriented computing
  • XML and semi-structured data management

Programme Chair

Joseph Davis, Sydney University

Programme Committee

  • Helen Ashman, University of South Australia
  • Ali Babar, University of Adelaide
  • Boualem Benatallah, University of New South Wales
  • Athman Bouguettaya, RMIT University
  • Jia Tina Du, University of South Australia
  • David Eyers, University of Otago
  • Aditya Ghose, University of Wollongong
  • David Hawking, Australian National University
  • Renato Iannella, Semantic Identity
  • Xiang-Fei Jia, University of Otago
  • Dong Seong Kim, University of Canterbury
  • Qing Li, City University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong, China
  • Jiangang Ma, University of Adelaide
  • Alistair Moffat, The University of Melbourne
  • Hamid Motahari, IBM Almaden Research Center, USA
  • Russel Pears, Auckland University of Technology
  • Yongrui Qin, The University of Adelaide
  • Michael Sheng, The University of Adelaide
  • Andrew Trotman, Otago University, New Zealand
  • Hua Wang, University of Southern Queensland, Australia
  • Jian Yu, Auckland University of Technology
  • Uwe Roehm, University of Sydney
  • Weiliang Zhao, University of Wollongong
  • In-young Ko, Korea Advanced Institute of Science & Technology, South Korea
  • Wei Chen, Agricultural Information Institute, Chinese Academy of Agricultural Sciences, China
  • Dickson K.W. Chiu, Dickson Computer Systems, Hong Kong
  • Luis Olsina, GIDIS_Web, Engineering School, UNLPam, Argentina
  • Kerry Taylor, CSIRO
  • Andrew Trotman, University of Otago, New Zealand