AUIC 2016

17thAustralasian User Interface Conference

2nd – 5th of February 2016

Australian National University (ANU), Canberra, Australia


The Australasian User Interface Conference (AUIC) is the forum for user interface researchers and practitioners at the Australasian Computer Science Week (ACSW 2016). AUIC provides an opportunity for workers in the areas of HCI, CSCW, and pervasive computing to meet with colleagues and with others in the broader computer science community.

For a summary of AUIC 2014, please see the Preface of the 2014 AUIC Proceedings.

Call for Papers

We welcome original full papers no longer than 10 pages or short papers no longer than 4 pages describing research or innovative practice, and demonstrations. AUIC invites participation and submissions from researchers and practitioners with an interest in techniques, tools, and technology for improving user interfaces over a wide range of areas, including the following:

  • User interface architectures, tools, techniques, and technologies, and their use in complex systems
  • Usability and evaluations
  • Innovative applications and user interfaces, e.g., AR/VR, multimedia, and adaptive interfaces
  • Distributed interfaces, including the World Wide Web
  • HCI education
  • Ambient and highly mobile devices, e.g., PDAs, wearable computers
  • CSCW, group work, groupware, and computer-mediated human communication
  • Novel visual and graphical user interfaces
  • Novel applications using vision-based interfaces, accelerometers, and gyroscopes

Submission Guidelines

Papers should be no more than 10 pages in length for full papers, or 4 pages in length for short papers. The authors should conform to the formatting instructions specified on the ACSW submission page.

Papers are submitted as PDF documents through the EasyChair conference management system (AUIC@ACSW 2016 Paper Submission). Each paper will be judged on its originality, significance, technical quality, relevance to AUIC, and presentation.

Please note that it is ACSW policy that at least one author of all accepted papers to the conferences and workshops in the series would both register and present at the event concerned. Failure to do so without a reason acceptable to the organisers of the event will result in the paper being retrospectively withdrawn from both the proceedings and all citation sources. It is also ACSW policy that all papers be original and not concurrently submitted elsewhere. Once again, we reserve the right to retrospectively withdraw a paper from the proceedings if we later find this not to be the case.

International Program Committee


Dr. Rachel Blagojevic Massey University, New Zealand
Dr. Thuong Hoang University of Melbourne, Australia

Program Committee

Prof. Robert Amor The University of Auckland, New Zealand
Dr. Craig Anslow University of Calgary, Canada
Prof. Mark Apperley The University of Waikato, New Zealand
Dr. Ahmed Sabbir Arif Ryerson University, Canada
Prof. Mark Billinghurst HITLab NZ, New Zealand
Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Broll TU Ilmenau, Germany
Assoc. Prof. Paul Calder Flinders University, Australia
Dr. Kelvin Cheng National University of Singapore
Assoc. Prof. Sally Jo Cunningham The University of Waikato, New Zealand
Prof. Geraldine Fitzpatrick TU Vienna, Austria
Prof. Tom Gedeon Australian National University
Dr. Judith Good University of Sussex, UK
Prof. John Grundy Swinburne University of Technology, Australia
Dr. Christof Lutteroth The University of Auckland, New Zealand
Dr. Michael Marner University of South Australia
Dr. Masood Masoodian The University of Waikato, New Zealand
Marcin Nowina-Krowicki Defence Science and Technology Organisation, Australia
Assoc. Prof. Beryl Plimmer The University of Auckland, New Zealand
Dr. Helen Purchase University of Glasgow, UK
Prof. Dr. Andreas Rausch Clausthal University of Technology, Germany
Prof. Dr. Thomas Rist University of Applied Sciences Augsburg, Germany
Dr. Haifeng Shen Flinders University, Australia
Dr. Ross Smith University of South Australia
Assoc. Prof. Maki Sugimoto Keio University, Japan
Dr. Robert J. Teather McMaster University, Canada
Dr. Stewart Von Itzstein University of South Australia
Dr. Gerald Weber The University of Auckland, New Zealand
Dr. Robert Wellington AUT University, New Zealand
Dr. Burkhard Wünsche The University of Auckland, New Zealand
Joanne Zucco University of South Australia